Michael Faulknor Named OFTC’s 2023 Rick Perkins Award Winner & Instructor of the Year

OFTC 2023 Rick Perkins Award Winner, Michael Faulknor.

Michael Faulknor, an English Instructor at Oconee Fall Line Technical College (OFTC) was recently named the College’s 2023 Rick Perkins Award (RPA) winner and Instructor of the Year.

The announcement was made during the college’s employee staff development day in Dublin on Wednesday, December 14.

The RPA program seeks to honor the Technical College System of Georgia’s (TCSG) most outstanding instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership.

Faulknor graduated from Georgia College & State University with both his bachelor’s and master’s degrees in English.

He was nominated for the RPA by OFTC student, Bailey Creamer and fellow OFTC instructor, Kim Meeks.

“Mr. Faulknor lends a helping hand to any and everyone who needs it,” Creamer shared in her nomination letter. “He even stepped in for some pointers in order to bring the SkillsUSA Opening and Closing Team to victory in both State and National competitions. He undoubtedly deserves this award for his willingness and capability to help those who are seeking it.”

“Michael cares for his students and their successes,” Meeks commented in her nomination of Faulknor. “He always gives his best to his students and their endeavors. He definitely goes the extra mile to ensure student understanding and success.”

Faulknor competed against four other finalists: Laura Layfield (Baldwin), Computer Information Systems Instructor; Susan McGill (Baldwin), Biology Instructor; Gary Simpson (Laurens), Automotive Technology Instructor; and Angela Yarbrough (Washington), Business Technology Instructor.

Each participant prepared a speech and participated in a series of interviews held by a panel of judges made up of local community members from the Dublin and Sandersville Pilot Clubs. The judges were Beth Bozeman (Dublin), Sandy Cox (Dublin), Diane Davie (Sandersville), and Ann Lastinger (Sandersville).

The instructors were judged on criteria like innovative instruction, educational achievement, and college and community leadership.

As the college winner, Faulknor will represent OFTC in regionals as he competes against other top instructors from TCSG colleges in February. The top region finalists will compete at the state-level in Atlanta in April where the winner will be named the state’s 2023 RPA winner by the TCSG.

For more info on OFTC’s 2023 Rick Perkins Award or the College’s 130+ programs of study, visit the College’s website, OFTC.edu. ###