Meeks Named OFTC’s 2024 Rick Perkins Award Winner & Instructor of the Year 

OFTC – Kim Meeks, an English Instructor and Division Chair for the Arts and Sciences at Oconee Fall Line Technical College (OFTC) was recently named the College’s 2024 Rick Perkins Award (RPA) winner and Instructor of the Year. 

The announcement was made during the college’s employee staff development in Dublin on Wednesday, December 13.  

The RPA program seeks to honor the Technical College System of Georgia’s (TCSG) most outstanding instructors who make significant contributions to technical education through innovation and leadership.  

Meeks is a graduate of Troy University and Georgia Southern University and has been teaching English at OFTC since 2000.  

She was nominated for the RPA by OFTC students, Danny Smith and Ajanae Park. 

“Ms. Meeks is an outstanding instructor,” Parks said. “I have never had an encounter with her where she was not willing to help. I appreciate all that Ms. Meeks has contributed to my education, and I am grateful to have met her in the time I spent at OFTC. She deserves to be OFTC’s Instructor of the Year!”  

“She has a caring heart for her students,” Smith added. “If there is anything she can answer and help us with, she makes it her duty to do so. She’s the best!”  

Meeks competed against other college nominees where each participant prepared a speech and participated in a series of interviews held by a panel of judges made up of local community members from the Dublin and Sandersville Pilot Clubs – Sandy Cox and Paula Wyatt of Dublin and Diane Davie and Ann Lastinger of Sandersville.  

The instructors nominated for the 2024 Rick Perkins Award were judged on criteria like innovative instruction, educational achievement, and college and community leadership. 

As the college winner, Meeks will represent OFTC in regionals as she competes against other top instructors from TCSG colleges in February. The top region finalists will compete at the state-level in Atlanta in April where the winner will be named the state’s 2024 Rick Perkins Award winner by the TCSG.  

For more info on OFTC or the College’s 130+ programs of study, visit the College’s website,